First steps in Tunisian Crochet

Taking a deep breath this morning I took the plunge to try out my first bit of Tunisian crochet. This piece didn’t have to be perfect as it was serving as a sample stitch “rectangle shape” for my freeform crochet bag WIP scrumbles.

I’ve been fascinated by Tunisian crochet since I started reading Kim Guzman’s blog and seeing the beautiful patterns she has designed. I initially started trying to work from my Complete Photo Guide to Crochet book, and as wonderful as this book is for normal crochet stitches I didn’t get how where I should be inserting my hook etc from the pictures and description.   Two cups of tea and several unpickings later I headed over to Kim’s blog to see if she had any guides.  I found Kim’s you tube videos and   this video guide combined with the step by step written instructions helped it all fall into place.  I carefully followed what she did and I soon picked up the basic Tunisian simple stitch.  I’d highly recommend  the videos to anyone wanting to learn Tunisian crochet, they show clearly what you need to do.

I don’t have a proper Tunisian hook so kept the stitch length short (20 stitches) so it didn’t slide off the standard crochet hook. I started with DK yarn and a 3.00 mm hook but soon increased to 3.50 as I was finding the stitches too tight to work with easily. I might try an even larger hook next time.

I lost stitches, not just one, several…. this resulted in one side of my rectangle having a distinct incline at the bottom and straight at the top once I got the hang of picking up all the stitches. Just look how the toe kicks upwards, thankfully it fit in-between the two “flower shapes”. I decided this was an erm intentional toe effect, just what I needed to match in with my leaf shape, after all perfect rectangles are boring aren’t they, artistic toey bits are much more freeform.

005
Artistic patch showing my first attempt at Tunisian simple stitch

I then went on to try out the Tunisian Purl Stitch (wrapped) again watching Kim’s You-tube guide.    This one turned out a little better.  Although the going was slower with wrapping the yarn in front of each stitch.    I still lost stitches so had a bit of a inward curling edge.  But liked the pattern produced.

First attempt at Tunisian pearl stitch
Then I discovered my favourite stitch.  The Tunisian Double Stitch (TDS) which felt much more like crocheting along.   I also liked the looser fabric this created.  This was easily to manipulate into a nice leaf shape, which complements the flowers in my freeform scrumbles perfectly.  I made several more using this double-stitch done with single or knitted stitch.
I still need much, much, more practice doing Tunisian crochet.  But I enjoyed my first venture into using this technique.     I’m looking forward to the next steps of a nice scarf  once I get a proper Tunisian hook.
Leaf formed from Tunisian double stitch.
One thought on “First steps in Tunisian Crochet

Leave a Reply

