Bubbly doggy bagness

Several days have been  filled with the joy of learning a new stitch and a different method of making stable bags.

Photo0208.jpg image by veldagia

1) Two yarns held and crocheted together provide a chunky structure for a bag.
2) The bubble or popcorn stitch.  This pattern used the method of:  “4DC in next stitch. Drop loop from hook; insert hook from front to back in top
of 1st DC, grab dropped loop and pull through stitch.  This forms a quirky little bubble stitch.”

These were put to great use during the construction of a new bag.  I chose Black red and gold colour-scheme so it would match most of my evening clothes.    I was pleased with the final result however I think it does need lining before I could use it to transport items around in.  At the moment it is being used as a project bag to store all my works in progress.

Pattern for the bubble bag can be found here:  http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/raspberry-bag Its very easy to follow to produce a wonderful bag.    I made alterations of adding  rows of DC between the bubble rows.  This meant that the bag worked up faster and  I think it may have used a little less yarn.  Details of the wool I used etc can be found on my Ravelry project page: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/Veldagia/raspberry-bag

I’ve also started on my next bag (my own design!!)  However this has been interrupted by a new canine addition to our family.  We adopted her from the rescue centre and on first impressions she seems the perfect crocheting companion.  However she does like to snuggle into the wool/me as I try to crochet so progress has been slower but even more entertaining.

4 thoughts on “Bubbly doggy bagness

Leave a Reply

