Scarves or Freeform yarn, colour, stitch and texture experimentations

Don’t you just love scarves?  So versatile and perfect for accessorising any outfit.  They can add a touch of glamor, fun, urban warmth or sophistication.  I can wear them in any weather, light silky neckties in the summer and chunky warm snugglable scarves in the winter.  Recently I’ve become addicted to making them.   Stash busting whilst experimenting with colour mixing, stitch sampling and texture  to create unique wearable pieces.

Two were made as Xmas gifts.  A pink and black, lacy free-form crochet scarf “this is what makes us girls” for my sister.  A glamorous purple chunky wool and velvet knitted scarf  “deep purple”  for my mum.

Two I made for myself as a fantastic way to practice knitting and to sample a couple of Jane Thornley’s fabulous patterns.  I’m really loving the free-range, no mistakes only design features style that Jane advocates.  Perfect for learning to knit without the pressure of nothing turning out right.   I added crochet borders to my scarves adding my own freeform touch.   The scarf recipes are available free through Ravelry or Jane’s website. 


thisiswhatmakesusgirlsscarf

Pink, butterflies, black lace, tassels, sequins, animal print beads, lacy crochet, feather boa fluff - this is what makes us girls. Freeform crochet scarf made with a multitude of pink, black and purple yarns then decorated with beads, butterfly’s and tassels.  Xmas 2012 gift for my wonderful sister.

Deep Purple Scarf. I used the holiday scarf recipe by Jane Thornley as a start point to the scarf. Such fun to knit with thick, fancy yarns.  Following this “recipe”. I used a range of different purple/pink yarns including chunky wool, mohair, velvety ribbon and DK. I differed from the recipe by including strips of crochet as well as knitting in the main long center piece. I also added a crochet border then decorated with a velvet flower.

Blue Stary Scarf – Blue knitted scarf inspired by Jane Thornley’s creations.  With a crochet border and star beads to add a bit of dazzle.

Will She Trick or Treat?  Knit and crochet scarf.  Adapted from Jane Thornley’s ‘Fresh-Baked Squash’ scarf recipe.  I used orange and black yarns in a mixture of DK, sparkley, mohair, boulce.  A very Halloween feeling scarf :) 

As I was working with DK weight yarns rather than aaran I added to the middle, 1 row drop stitch (k2 wrap 2), then 1 row knit the k2. Followed by 1 row sead stitch. This was then reversed before again following Jane’s pattern. I used similar toned yarns for the reverse section. I added a row of single crochet to tidy up the scarf edges and make it ruffle a bit more.

One thought on “Scarves or Freeform yarn, colour, stitch and texture experimentations

Leave a Reply

